Ubuntu 15.10 Bluetooth Still Not Working

I have been wanting to get a Logitech MX Anywhere 2 mouse, but held off until the beta of Ubuntu 15.10 due to waiting for improved bluetooth support for low energy bluetooth devices. Today I got to test the MX Anywhere 2 on a fresh install of Wily and bluetooth is still non-functional with the MX Anywhere 2. I then loaded up a Fedora 22 live and had no issues getting the mouse to work. At one point if you wanted the best hardware support you had to use Ubuntu desktop. In the case of bluetooth that is not the case with Fedora 22 having been released in May and Ubuntu 15.10 beta still not being able to match it. I find it hard to think I might have to wait another six months to use the MX Anywhere 2.

This entry was posted in Linux, Ubuntu. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ubuntu 15.10 Bluetooth Still Not Working

  1. nico says:

    STILL not updated to Bluez 5 for 4LE support? I have such a sexy HP mouse in a drawer waiting for that…

  2. fossfreedom says:

    Given that 15.10 ships with the latest bluez package it should detect bluetooth smart devices like yours. Suggest use the scan option via the command line as described here: http://askubuntu.com/questions/636712/logitech-mx-anywhere-2-mouse-pairs-but-doesnt-do-anything

    • Charles Profitt says:

      I looked at that article before testing the mouse. It made me think I could get in working. Unfortunately, even with those steps I was not able to get it to work. It did work with Fedora though.

  3. Bluetooth has always been a issue for me on Ubuntu for years now it seems support for hardware goes from bad to good to bad again depending on changes in bluez and the kernel.

    • Charles Profitt says:

      With Fedora is just worked for me, but I have no idea if Fedora consistently works or has issues intermittently like Ubuntu.

  4. Seng says:

    I tried to upgrade bluez 5 on ubuntu 14.04 via ppa, and it works. I also assumed with 15.10 it will work out of the box, unfortunately i have the same problem like you, it does not work, am still figuring why…

    Am also using mx anywhere 2

    • Charles Profitt says:

      I do not know. It works on Fedora 22. It is frustrating using Ubuntu desktop right now with so much of the focus on the phone the desktop is not keeping pace with other distros in the area of basic functionality.

      • Seng says:

        After google around, found out that current kernel version has issue on booting the bluetooth. Basically it might boot to legacy mode, causing your mouse do not work.

        You can try to power off and on, see if its work.

        Now I can use the mouse, just reconnect is quite troublesome

  5. I was having problems pairing my Microsoft Bluetooth 6000 keyboard, but was finally able to via bluetoothctl by adapting the instructions from here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Bluetooth_keyboard
    Maybe that can help…

  6. Sah Lee says:

    I got my Ubuntu 15.10 to pair with my Anywhere MX 2. But it didn’t work until I ran ‘hcitool scan’. No idea what happened when I ran that command. I didn’t upgrade anything though. Hope this helps.

  7. Pingback: MX Anywhere 2 Review | Free Trader Beowulf

Leave a Reply

