Dell XPS 13 (9343) Developer Edition – Bluetooth Firmware

I installed Ubuntu 15.04 on my Dell XPS 13 (9343) Developer Edition and found Bluetooth to be non-functional. I read several posts on the web that called for getting the firmware from Windows and using a tool to convert the hex to hcd. I knew that Bluetooth had been working on the unit prior to replacing the preloaded 14.04 so I plugged in my recovery USB stick and poked around to see if I could find the firmware. After little digging I found a package that contained the firmware and extracted it. (note: the install will put the firmware in /lib/firmware and it needs to be in /lib/firmware/brcm)

Dell Receovery XPS 13 9343 Developer Edition

Dell Receovery XPS 13 9343 Developer Edition

1. Go to the debs folder and find the bt-dw1560-firmware_1.0_all.deb.

Broadcom Debian Package

Broadcom Debian Package

2. Open this file with Archive Manager.

3. Navigate to /usr/share/bt-dw1560/firmware/

Archive Manager Extract Firmware

Archive Manager Extract Firmware

4. Extract the fw-0a5c_216f.hcd file

5. Move it to /lib/firmware/brcm with the name BCM20702A0-0a5c-216f.hcd (note: your path may vary – I put mine in my home directory)

sudo mv fw-0a5c_216f.hcd /lib/firmware/brcm/BCM20702A0-0a5c-216f.hcd

6. unload bluetooth using the command:

sudo modprobe -r btusb

7.  load bluetooth using the command:

sudo modprobe btusb

8. Bluetooth should now be working.

After following this process I was able to pair devices and send files from my phone to my computer.

This entry was posted in Dell, FOSS, Miscellaneous, Ubuntu and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dell XPS 13 (9343) Developer Edition – Bluetooth Firmware

  1. Hanz Geeratz says:

    Hello, thanks for this article, I also own a Dell XPS 13 Developer edition running Ubuntu Gnome 15.04. Unfortunately Bluetooth so far ever worked, so I will try out your method. Would you mind sharing the firmware files with me or point me to where I could download them. I never managed to make a recovery USB on my device. I had to reinstall the OS, since after the first start & software update it did become unusable. Enjoy your day🙂

  2. Peter Prevos says:

    I found a way to convert the windows driver:

    git clone git://github.com/jessesung/hex2hcd.git
    cd hex2hcd
    make

    Download http://www.iogear.com/support/driver/GBU521_Windows_XP_Driver_v5.6.0.7700.zip

    Extract BCM43142A0_001.001.011.0049.0054.hex from the file

    ./hex2hcd BCM43142A0_001.001.011.0049.0054.hex BCM43142A0-0a5c-21d7.hcd
    sudo cp BCM43142A0-0a5c-21d7.hcd /lib/firmware/brcm/
    sudo modprobe -r btusb
    sudo modprobe btusb

    Source: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2254661

    Peter

Leave a Reply

