Free Trader Beowulf

Supporting Free and Open Source Software

USB Wireless N Adapter

My youngest daughter, who is five, has been running Ubuntu on a very old Dell laptop and it has increasingly become an issue with over heating issues and other problems. No fault of the Dell; it is very old. The good thing about her having an old laptop is it did not require me to run a long run of Ethernet cable to her computer. I recently purchased a new System76 Gazelle Professional (I will blog about that soon as well) and my plan is to cascade a custom built desktop to my eldest daughter and then the other desktop to my youngest daughter. The only catch is that the desktop does not have wireless; I either need to get a wireless card or run some cable.

I spent the least several days looking for adapters that users had reported working with Ubuntu 12.04 and found the Medialink – Wireless N USB Adapter – 802.11n 150Mbps on Amazon.com with lots of reviewers claiming it worked instantly on Ubuntu 12.04. I received the product today and being a good systems administrator, and father, I wanted to test it to ensure the transition would go smoothly. I am happy to report that the adapter simply worked immediately. The lsusb information is below:

Device 003: ID 148f:3070 Ralink Technology, Corp. RT2870/RT3070 Wireless Adapter

I tested the device on speedtest.net and got the same exact results as the Ethernet adapter in my test machine and there were no lockups experienced during a few large downloads. The device comes with a three foot extension cable, but I did not use that. Overall I am very pleased with the purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for a usb wireless adapter.

usb_wireless_adapter

Medialink USB wireless adapter

7 comments on “USB Wireless N Adapter

  1. anthonyvenable110
    August 16, 2012

    Reblogged this on anthonyvenable110.

  2. Fabian Rodriguez
    August 17, 2012

    When I needed one I decided I would spend zero time checking if it was supported. I bought from ThinkPenguin.com: https://www.thinkpenguin.com/catalog/wireless-networking-gnulinux

    There is a price premium, including a donation to the Trisquel project, which IMO was all money well spent.

  3. Bob
    August 20, 2012

    Does it actually support Wireless N?

    • Charles Profitt
      August 20, 2012

      Yes, it got N speeds.

  4. Charles R
    September 2, 2012

    The real problem is that most hardware is dependent on at least some proprietary software. If the chipset manufacturers stop supporting it your screwed. Medialink – Wireless N USB Adapter – 802.11n 150Mbps is one of the bad cards. Lexmark is a good example of this that a lot of users are going to experience shortly. The drivers a propritary and as soon as things change your going to lose printing support since Lexmark isn’t updating the drivers any more.

  5. James ♂☺ (@agenfrida)
    February 10, 2013

    Good to know this usb wifi dongle works right off the bat. I just got one, but has not been shipped yet! ::fingerscrossed::

  6. Pingback: TP-Link TL-WN822N | Free Trader Beowulf

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2012 by in FOSS, Linux, Ubuntu.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

