Western Digital MyBook Live

As many of my G+ followers know I have been struggling to decide between an HP Micro Server (N40L) or a NAS (either QNAP or Synology). I recently decided to wait on that decision and get an interim answer using a gift card I received for x-mas. I purchased the Western Digital MyBook Live 2TB. This drive’s only connection is via a gigabit Ethernet adapter. While this device will not take the place of a NAS or even a custom built Micro Server it is much, much less expensive.

MyBook Status

The great thing about the device is that it runs Debian.

MyBook SSH

I have not gotten so far as to tweak any of the settings, but knowing the OS underneath the hood should be of some help. I was able to transfer my .flac and .ogg song libraries to the device and then play them from my local computers. The Twonky media server did not work with Banshee nor Rhythmbox. Though it did work, for pictures and movies, to my Google TV and Samsung TV.

In the end I am quite pleased with spending $159 to get 2TB of disk space available to multiple computers on my network. The device makes a very slight bit of noise, but nothing that bothers me (unlike most servers).

This entry was posted in Linux. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Western Digital MyBook Live

  1. Stuart says:

    I would be very interested to know if you can get Twonky (or Mediatomb) to function correctly with your other devices and packages.

    I have Mediatomb functioning with everything in the house, on a rather slow Buffalo NAS device.

  2. Jesse van den Kieboom says:

    Did you need to to anything in particular to get ssh access?

    • Charles Profitt says:

      Yes.

      navigate too:
      http://mybooklive/UI/ssh
      then enable SSH

      Then the ssh user name is root and the password is welc0me

      You should change that password ASAP after enabling ssh.

  3. mcellius says:

    Please continue to provide updates on this! I’ve been interested in doing this so was excited to find that someone else has tried it. What you learn will be very helpful.

  4. Jonas says:

    @David The My Book Live doesn’t have an ARM processor; I don’t see why that install script for Crashplan would work. Did you have success with it?

  5. Tim Johnson says:

    Anyone get crashplan working on the my book live? I’m trying to install using script mentioned above and not having any luck. thnks

  6. brandon says:

    So I have a Google TV and 2 MacBooks.
    Is there a way to access the WD Live drive from all three?
    How does the Google TV connect?
    Does music work as well as the movies?

Leave a Reply

