Ubuntu 11.10 and .docx, .xlsx, .pptx bug fixed!

A few days ago I posted a work-a-round to the bug in desktop-file-utils that resulted in certain Microsoft file formats opening with File Roller and not LibreOffice. This bug is fixed now and is a fantastic example of how the Ubuntu Community works with Canonical to fix bugs in Ubuntu.

The bug was originally reported on 10-13-2011 by Jonathan Ernst and then through the work of Sebastien BacherHenk-Jan, Pedro Villavicencio and Martin Pitt the patches were put in to -proposed and then tested. For my part I confirmed the bug by confirming that the bug affected me too. I also confirmed the patch after it was entered in to -proposed. While I am not an Ubuntu developer I was able to play a role in getting a bug patched. I hope that this shows other non-developers in the community the important role they can play in making Ubuntu better. It should also be noted that Jonathan did an excellent job of reporting the bug and following up on requests for updated information.

If you would like to learn more about the process of squashing bugs in Ubuntu visit the Bug Squad Wiki page.

This entry was posted in Linux, Ubuntu. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Ubuntu 11.10 and .docx, .xlsx, .pptx bug fixed!

  1. Pingback: Ubuntu 11.10 and .docx issue – fixed! « Free Trader Beowulf

  2. Gonzalo says:

    It is not fixed for me yet, and I have my system up to date: Oneiric Ocelot 64bit on a Sony Vaio laptop.

    • Charles Profitt says:

      It is in proposed and I believe it should be released soon.

    • jeff says:

      11.10 is a piece of shit! How can they release such crap! Why is there no reboot option? I have to enter my wireless key every time I connect! Who the hell decided to release this crap? I thought microsoft was bad, however, this is unacceptable. I am done with Ubuntu.

      • Charles Profitt says:

        1) The reboot option is under the shutdown dialog
        2) You should not have to enter your wireless key every time you connect; it doesn’t work that way for me.

        • jeff says:

          Charles – I read a few threads on various sites and its seems others are having the same problem with the wireless key. There is no reboot option under my shutdown. In addition, every time i want to shut down Ubuntu hangs and have to force it to close. My browser freezes, my skype will not open automatically, have to activate each time, and I just updated again and nothing changed. I’m in China for a week trying to do demos and its embarrassing how bad this update is! I have ordered an Airbook and will toss this notebook in the garbage where 11.10 belongs. Simply horrible. I have to suffer 3 more days with this shit. I have been using Ubuntu for years and have NEVER experienced such a terrible release. I hate Windows, however, 11.10 is 1000 times worse than any Windows experience I’ve ever had!

  3. Pingback: The Choice Between Microsoft Windows and Microsoft Linux | Techrights

  4. Emma Milne says:

    Ubuntu decided to upgrade on my pc automatically to 11.10 and I’ve had so many problems since. My mp3 player will no longer sync, which was no problem in my previous version, spotify won’t work, wine won’t work, I can barely use my webcam (I use skype to keep in touch with my family, being a student away from home). I started using ubuntu because my laptop was riddled with viruses when I had windows. I absolutely loved this OS until this new version. Oh and it’s constantly freezing too. Dear Ubuntu developers, if you’re gonna bring out an upgrade for your users, bring one out that’s not a total crock of shit!!

    • Charles Profitt says:

      I am sorry you had this experience. I was able to successfully upgrade 7+ machines to 11.10. They all required me to approve the upgrade to the new version as well; are you sure you did not accept the prompt?

    • jeff says:

      I agree with you. 11.10 is worst OS I have EVER used! I’m extremely perplexed on who thought this version was ready for release!!! Where the hell was QA? I’m share Apple is thrilled since I’m sure I will not be the only Ubuntu user who migrates to Mac!

      • Charles Profitt says:

        Given all the issues I have had with the Mac platform at work I do not think I would head to Apple anytime soon. Their response to security holes and major flaws in their OS have been horrible.

        • jeff says:

          Charles – I would rather stay with Ubuntu, do you have any idea when the bugs will be fixed? Will they release a major patch or an updated version? I’m not a developer or engineer so not sure how they release bug fixes. Thanks.

          • Charles Profitt says:

            Jeff:

            The bug with .docx, .pptx, etc has already been fixed and I believe the patch was released. What other bugs are you concerned about?

  5. AYAD says:

    this is bad I think 10.4 is the best one

  6. Tony says:

    What we want from a linux OS with a graphical interface?:
    1)Maximum freedom of flexible personalization
    2)Maximum possibility of interface configuration, lightness, speed
    3)Maximum stability and security

    This new Ubuntu, from the 11.04 to this 11.10 version rapresent a strong involution. No dubt!! I’m very sorry but I will immediately change it with Mint.

  7. DameMak says:

    The worst thing in all this charade with 11.10 is that people responsible for the crap 11.10 do not see their mistake. They have DARED TO INFLUENCE OUR HABITS, they have DARED TO TOUCH OUR FREEDOM OF CHOOSING how we used (happily) previous versions of Ubuntu & Gnome. And they came really with a crappy version and I read complains on hundreds of sites throughout the whole world. I miss EXACTLY how my panel applets were working in 10.04, and on one forum someone explained to me that the panel applets were very hard to manage, to install, to uninstall and to program. GRRRRRRRRRRR

  8. It is truly a great and helpful piece of information. I’m glad that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  9. seems there is still a bug with pptx on 12.04 Libre Office. Crashes the app. Any pptx viwers out there for Ubuntu 12.04 (Precise)?

Leave a Reply

