Ubuntu 10.04 – Boot Time

I am testing the beta release of Ubuntu 10.04 on 1.6Ghz process and 1.5 GB or ram. The first test was from power on to login and the second test was from ‘bios check complete’ to login. I did ten tests of each and the average times are below:

  • power to login: 38 seconds
  • bios complete to login: 29 seconds

Very nice — great job on this goes to the Ubuntu Canonical Team.

I am still exploring the beta, but I am impressed with it so far.

This entry was posted in Linux, Ubuntu. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ubuntu 10.04 – Boot Time

  1. Ddorda says:

    On msi wind U100 it took me about 20 seconds to load from grub menu.

  2. x says:

    What is your hard drive?

  3. Pingback: Ubuntu 10.04 – Boot Time « Free Trader Beowulf | Just linux!

  4. Kuba says:

    Hi,

    I got similar results with my 1.6GHz Athlon processor. You can notice that X server takes most of the boot time.

  5. ap0k41yp5 says:

    It booted in 11 sec on my HP DV6807ef (dual core 1.73Ghz, 3GB RAM, 5400RPM HDD). I’m happy🙂

Leave a Reply

