UNR: Ubuntu Netbook Remix to the rescue

Today, early in the morning, I received a call from my in-laws. Their Windows XP Netbook was infected with some piece of malware and the computer was no longer ‘booting’. I got my trusty ‘recovery tools’ out – several Linux based anti-virus rescue disks and an Ubuntu liveCD for recovering data if a complete reinstall was necessary.

When they arrived the ‘story’ was updated and I found out that another family member tried to ‘clean’ the system. Apparently this cleaning was what made the computer have issues booting. It would boot, but just auto-magically log the user off; even in safe mode. Apparently they had been hit by Internet Security 2010 malware; while running as an administrative user of course. The other family member tried using Malwarebytes to remove the malware, but when it completed the computer would no longer allow a user to login.

This is where things get interesting.

I loaded up the netbook with Ubuntu from a liveCD and was rescuing the data files from the computer. I was then asked what I was using. After an explanation and viewing of several Ubuntu Netbook Remix (UNR) videos of Youtube I was asked if I could just install UNR.

I finished the install and updates and handed the computer to my in-laws. They were absolutely amazed that it had taken so little time to get a fully functional system up and running. They were completely blown away when they found out that Firefox, OpenOffice and Sodoku was already installed as well. I think they may be considering converting other computers after seeing how well UNR ran on their netbook that had been ‘sluggish’ under Windows XP.

This entry was posted in FOSS, Linux, Ubuntu. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to UNR: Ubuntu Netbook Remix to the rescue

  1. Pingback: Charles Profitt: UNR: Ubuntu Netbook Remix to the rescue | TuxWire : The Linux Blog

  2. “Na na na na na na na na …. Ubuntu Man!”

    Don’t worry, I will save you!

  3. Every time I see a Windows PC, I wish I could do that!

  4. Pingback: UNR: Ubuntu Netbook Remix to the rescue « Free Trader Beowulf | Just linux!

  5. Victor says:

    I think congratulations are in order, both to you and your family members!🙂 Nice job!

  6. nixternal says:

    And lets not forget, Windows XP on a netbook is so wrong in many ways. How about for one, a lot of the windows are bigger than the screen, which was really weird.

  7. nasrullah says:

    nice to choose Ubuntu…………..the freedom OS…………

  8. Dave Morley says:

    Nice one dude🙂

  9. Pingback: Ubuntu-News – Your one stop for news about Ubuntu » Blog Archive » Ubuntu Netbook Remix to the rescue

  10. LCC says:

    I’ve finally convinced my brother to get off the Win XP ride. Years of one bit of malware after another finally got him. I had him download a copy of Xubuntu for his older laptop & put Ubuntu on his PC. Sadly, he insisted on adding the XP theme.

  11. Jon says:

    Ubuntu to the rescue again…

    I had a friend that had a similar issue with XP. He ended up doing a clean install again, and had lost the drivers disc he need to get the rest of the hardware up and running. I ended up putting just a basic live Ubuntu CD in that his family had been trying. Of course everything worked with it, but he didn’t want it installed. I downloaded the drivers, rebooted, and installed. He was happy again.

  12. Pingback: Ubuntu Netbook Remix to the rescue | 48da Tech News

  13. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

