Sansa Fuze

After doing tireless research on which portable media player to get I narrowed my choices down to the Cowon S9 and the Sansa Fuze. Due to issues with the Cowon S9 involving the units being bricked on Linux and OS X I decided to avoid that player.

I have to say… the Fuze is absolutely fantastic. It worked out of the box with Ubuntu 9.10 64bit and Rhythmbox. I am not sure I like MTP mode, but I am currently using it and Rhythmbox to transfer media. The nearest competitor would be the iPod Nano, but the Nano simply does not hold a candle to the Sansa Fuze. The difference for me is that the Fuze cost me less than half what the Nano costs (for the same capacity), it supports open codecs such as .flac and .ogg, and it has a MicroSD/SDHC slot so its memory can be expanded.

Now I have to transcode my music collection from .flac to .ogg.

This entry was posted in Linux. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sansa Fuze

  1. TGM says:

    Just buy yourself a 32GB SDHC and keep the FLAC!

  2. Dave Morley says:

    I confirm this fact.

    The quality of sound is staggering too. Best out of the box audio I have heard in a while. an the fm radio is great if you should get bored of your own tunes🙂

  3. Martin Owens says:

    I love my Sanza Fuses. My wife likes them too…

  4. Pingback: Charles Profitt: Sansa Fuze | TuxWire : The Linux Blog

  5. nixternal says:

    I purchased a Sansa e260 a couple of years ago at Tiger Direct here in Chicago. It was a refurb, which was perfect as it came with v1 of the firmware which meant it would run Rockbox like a champ. I love the fact I can get right around 60 hours of use on a single charge. Show me another player out there with those kinds of stats. I believe the Fuze is in the same boat with battery consumption as well. Sansa makes great products, and also, they play Ogg out of the box now as well🙂

  6. shivan says:

    Yes, the fuze is awesome. Note that you can configure the mode: MSC/MTP/Auto

  7. Duncan Lock says:

    Whoa, whoa whoa – you don’t have to transcode anything – just use FUSE and create a mount point that presents your FLAC music collection as something else, like MP3 or OGG:

    Here’s a bog list of media related FUSE fs’s:
    http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/fuse/index.php?title=MediaFileSystems

    Here’s FS that seamlessly presents a tree of flac files as MP3’s, and transcodes on the fly on read/copy:
    http://mp3fs.sourceforge.net/

    FS that does the same thing, but from any GStreamer supported format to any other:
    http://bobcopeland.com/gstfs/

    I’m currently using MP3fs to present my music collection (which is mixed MP3 & FLAC) as all 128bit MP3’s, for copying to portable MP3-only players. My fstab line for this is:

    mp3fs#/home/duncan/Music,128 /mnt/mp3 fuse ro,allow_other 0 0

    When I look in /mnt/mp3, I see the same as when I look in /home/duncan/Music, but all the music files appear to be 128bit MP3’s, whatever they really are. Everything else (album art, playlists, etc..) is unchanged.

  8. f.p. says:

    Create a .is_audio_player file on the root of the Fuze’s filesystem, and specify the file types you want to go on it. Rhythmbox will then transcode to your preferred format on the fly when transferring songs that are in FLAC etc.

  9. I picked up a Sansa Fuze back in April, very happy with it, plus it came in PINK!🙂

  10. Jorge Tomé says:

    I also own and this fantastic player but I have one complaint.

    I have not been able to transfer video to the player in any way (using Ubuntu 9.10). Someone has achieve this?.

  11. twilightomni says:

    I hear Fuzes are great. Whatever you do, don’t get a Sansa View though. Dead-end firmware (hasn’t seen an update since 2007, I think) and lack of support for FLAC and OGG mean it’s gathering dust on my shelf. The bass on mine is also a little glitchy when I use the EQ, but that’s mostly small potatoes compared to the lack of support.

    I’m glad Sansa stuck behind the Fuze, seems like a good product.

  12. bandsxbands says:

    My friend and I were recently talking about how we as human beings are so hooked onto electronics. Reading this post makes me think back to that discussion we had, and just how inseparable from electronics we have all become.

    I don’t mean this in a bad way, of course! Ethical concerns aside… I just hope that as memory becomes less expensive, the possibility of copying our memories onto a digital medium becomes a true reality. It’s one of the things I really wish I could experience in my lifetime.

    (Posted on Nintendo DS running R4i DS NetSurf)

Leave a Reply

