lisp and emacs – my open source programming adventure starts

While I was sick to my stomach for a good portion of Christmas morning (12am to 3:30am) I took the time in between trips to the great porcelain repository to read some chapters of Practical Common Lisp and started to toy a bit with code. I have to say learning emacs and lisp at the same time is interesting’ particularly while your stomach is motivating you to launch yourself across the room at high rates of speed every 15 to 30 minutes.

(defun hello-world()
(format t “hello world”))

Yes… the traditional hello world program. Why do all how to program guides do this? Is there some reason for this?

Well off I go to learning more lisp and emacs!

This entry was posted in Linux, Programming. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to lisp and emacs – my open source programming adventure starts

  1. Pingback: lisp and emacs – my open source programming adventure starts … | Open Hacking

  2. Sebastian Thürrschmidt says:

    You don’t have to code it yourself, there’s a much easier way to say Hello world in Ubuntu:

    sudo apt-get install hello
    hello

    Who says Linux is only for programmers?🙂

  3. Pingback: lisp and emacs – my open source programming adventure starts …

  4. Toby Smithe says:

    Hey, you’re missing a close paren😉 Good luck with the Lisp and Emacs learning; it’s something I’ve just embarked on, too!

  5. Pingback: Charles Profitt: lisp and emacs – my open source programming adventure starts | TuxWire : The Linux Blog

Leave a Reply

