I love Google search results… OS X trails Linux

Here are the results:

I love Suse      -     412,000
I love Fedora    -   1,180,000
I love Ubuntu    -   4,040,000
I love OS X      -  28,100,000
I love Linux     -  81,600,000
I love iPod      - 153,000,000
I love Youtube   - 263,000,000
I love Windows 7 - 369,000,000
I love Windows   - 407,000,000
I love Google    - 423,000,000

That is pretty impressive… Linux getting more than double the love OS X does. Then again does it really matter🙂

This entry was posted in FOSS, Linux, Ubuntu and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to I love Google search results… OS X trails Linux

  1. Daniel says:

    What about “I love mac”?
    Interesting anyway – is this just searching google with those phrases and the number of results google finds?

    • Charles Profitt says:

      “I love Mac” would be equivalent to I love Proliant or I love Optiplex. It is hardware not an OS.

      • In that case, “I love Linux” is equivalent with “I love Darwin”.

        Anyhow, that’s pretty impressive. It shows how many fanboys Linux really has.

        • Charles Profitt says:

          @Jean-Phillippe – I guess you could look at it that way… I guess all the OS X hits could just go to BSD if we wanted to say that… Darwin is what OS X is based on — but it is not really equivalent to ‘Linux’.

      • Douglas says:

        Technically, “I love Mac” would be equivalent to I love Optiplex, but since OS X is so tied to Macs, it’s quite common to use one meaning the other. Thinking that way, one should search for “I love Snow Leopard” and “I love Leopard” too, but those will get blurred by the animals

        • Charles Profitt says:

          🙂 Pretty much the whole ting is rather silly… but fun. While it is true that you can not legally run OS X on a non-Mac it is quite possible to run other OSes on Macs. I personally know people that buy Macs but they run Linux on their Macs.

      • Emmanuel says:

        Including, “I love Mac” would be important since the Mac is about the experience between the hardware and software. You cannot run OS X on a PC.

        • Charles Profitt says:

          Actually you ‘can’ run OS X on a PC… and in fact do run OS X on a PC… because Apple’s are PCs. You can’t run OS X legally on a non-Apple manufactured PC… but you can run Windows, BSD or Linux on an Apple brand PC.

  2. Brenda says:

    98,200 for “i love windows vista”…… why is that beating linux?

  3. jonathan says:

    i love uubuntu only gets 3,970,000 results😉

  4. I love chocolate – 65,500,000

    This puts it ahead of OSX but behind Linux

  5. Pingback: I love Google search results… OS X trails Linux « Free Trader Beowulf OShopping

  6. Pingback: I love Google search results… OS X trails Linux « Free Trader Beowulf | hostwebsitereview.com

  7. Pingback: I love Google search results… OS X trails Linux « Free Trader Beowulf Linux QQ

  8. Andrew says:

    How does “I love Ubuntu” do?

  9. sachin says:

    I love chrome is a smashing 301,000,000

  10. Pingback: I love Google search results… OS X trails Linux « Free Trader Beowulf Love Style

  11. Daniel says:

    IMO the results are more relevant if you use quotation marks in searches (eg. “I love Ubuntu”). This way you’ll get:

    Google 2 180 000
    YouTube 1 860 000
    Windows   564 000
    Linux   544 000
    Ubuntu   220 000
    iPod   205 000
    Windows 7   197 000
    Fedora   175 000
    OS X    65 700
    SUSE    63 700

    • Charles Profitt says:

      Wow… if you do it with quotes the number of OS X and Windows 7 results really fall off… heck SUSE is almost higher than OS X. Woah.

  12. Andreas says:

    Try searching with enclosing quotes and the order changes.

  13. Pingback: Love and hate search results « Overbenny’s Blog

  14. glyj says:

    I love Mandriva gives 612,000 !

    Regards,
    glyj

  15. Pingback: Links 26/12/2009: Linux 2.6.33 Reaches RC2, Xorg-server 1.8 Almost Out | Boycott Novell

  16. Its Ubuntu and not Uubntu
    I got 13.100.000 results for “I love Ubuntu” query

  17. TGM says:

    Any way of finding out which ones are sarcastic?😀

  18. Randall says:

    A visualization of what Linux is and how it relates to Ubuntu would be a great way to start clearing the “cloud of confusion”. We could add the GNU apps/tools too. It’s not a “battlefield”.

  19. Pingback: Charles Profitt: I love Google search results… OS X trails Linux | TuxWire : The Linux Blog

  20. Pingback: Benjamin Drung: Love and hate search results | TuxWire : The Linux Blog

Leave a Reply

