Karmic experience: Its been a hard days night

On Friday I updated my main machine to Ubuntu 9.10 (Karmic Koala) and the experience was a Hard Days Night. Perhaps if there was a little bit more cowbell I would have overlooked the current warts; either way this is not a Hello, Goodbye post, but a We Can Work It Out post.

Issues encountered:

  • Evolution backup would not restore. The Karmic version (2.28.1) did not like the backup file from Jaunty (2.26.1). I booted up Fedora 11 which used (2.26.3) and restored the backup with success. I then did a backup from Fedora (2.26.3) and successfully restored the backup in Karmic (2.28.1). I guess some times it good to Come Together with other distros
  • Evolution and Firefox were ‘slow’ resolving DNS names. I found several posts, launchpad questions and launchpad bugs about this one. One that was reported back in August. There are people blaming this on lack of IPv6 support in certain home routers and diverting any blame from Ubuntu. Let It Be they say. I am not The Fool on the Hill, but I realize that in the large scheme of people adopting Ubuntu this is an issue that should be dealt with in the OS, not by having end users told to replace their routers or hold a Internet protest
  • Using WYSIWYG rich text editors like found in WordPress on Firefox 3.5 still involves a delay while trying to Get Back by using backspace while the same process on OS X or Windows does not suffer this issue

The good things:

  • I like the new icon theme – it is the best default look Ubuntu has had since I started down the Long and Winding Road with Ubuntu
  • Firefox 3.5 appears to be much faster in general usage and In My Life having tabs enabled by default is a great thing
  • Intel graphics are finally good enough that it does not make me think of using an Old Brown Shoe; I have a Ticket to Ride now

In short there are some small warts, but I am in love with Karmic and I Feel Fine.

This entry was posted in Linux, Ubuntu. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Karmic experience: Its been a hard days night

  1. Mike Donaghy says:

    I agree with most of your observations with the exception of Evolution. Simply because I don’t use it (gmail ftw).

    However, I do appreciate the lengths you’ve gone to using all of those Beatles song titles. It made me smile.

  2. Nenad says:

    I have my own issues with Karmic, but I won’t talk about that. I just wanted to say that I find it cool that you have The Beatles’ song titles all over the place🙂

    Greetings from Serbia

  3. rpotter28 says:

    Ran into the “Evolution backup would not restore” also. Luckily, I was just testing on my laptop, and can work around it. I am waiting for a fix for this!

  4. Pingback: Charles Profitt: Karmic experience: Its been a hard days night | TuxWire : The Linux Blog

  5. Pingback: Charles Profitt: Karmic experience: Its been a hard days night | TuxWire : The Linux Blog

  6. booboo says:

    I had a similar issue with Evolution; it would not let me restore from a backup I had saved on an external Western Digital MyBook. Copying the backup file to the desktop worked.

  7. CoolGoose says:

    I’m an lazy bastard🙂 updated from 9.04 to 9.10 and except the small nvidia drivers problem I’m pretty bug free (removed that pesky empathy in the process).

  8. morgan says:

    If you fiddle with the Compiz setting ever goes a bit strawberry fields………

  9. Andrew says:

    I use both distros as well. I am a Fedora Ambassador however so I am glad to hear that it helped you even if only to re-claim your evolution backup🙂. I to am very impressed with 9.10 it seems very very natural to me not as much herky jerky as some of the 9.04 features felt.

    On an interesting side note Fedora 12 (in beta almost to the RC) feels very much like Ubuntu 9.04 in the general feel of things. I am guessing alot of the Upstream improvements to Gnome by Ubuntu were back-ported into F12 which is the reason for the Ubuntu like feel.

    • Charles Profitt says:

      I am both an Ubuntu member and a Fedora ambassador. I will likely be using F12 on at least one of my machines after it is released. They both are quality distributions and solid options to Windows and OS X.

  10. Francisco says:

    Nice Beatles post.🙂 Anyway, Intel problems are not solve for everyone. My girlfriend wanna kill me for that.

  11. Shot says:

    The main problem with the intel driver is that it now runs at half the speed of Jaunty’s (which never caused me any issues), which means I’m still holding on the upgrade.😐

Leave a Reply

