Once more in to the breach my friends: Flac

I have been convinced. I have read your comments, dear readers, and elected to toss out the 16 sacred ogg files of U2 and start anew with a more blessed format of flac. I will use a lossless format and never again have to drag my CDs out from the basemet in order to get my music.

I have been converted… but I still need to find a nifty command line statement to transcode the flac files in to ogg files.

I used the following to delete all my .mp3 files:

find <path> -type f -iname “*.mp3” -print0 | xargs -0 rm

Ah, the never ending quest of moving toward a new OS continues.

This entry was posted in Linux, Ubuntu. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Once more in to the breach my friends: Flac

  1. Might find this a little faster:

    find -type f -iname ‘*.mp3’ -exec -rm {} \;

  2. Your blog ate some of my last comment, so trying again:

      find  -type f -iname '*.mp3' -exec rm {} \;
    
  3. and now with html entities…

    find <path> -type f -iname ‘*.mp3’ -exec rm {} \;

  4. Mary says:

    I assume you mean transcoding to Ogg Vorbis? (Ogg is just a container, Flac itself can be an Ogg file!)

    In any case, running oggenc directly on the flac file works for me, which is fairly nifty.

  5. Paul Collins says:

    find . -name \*.flac -print0 | xargs -0 — oggenc -q5

    oggenc will preserve the tags nicely for you and store each ogg in the same directory as the flac. Adjust -q to suit.

    Next you might want to separate the oggs and flacs. One quick way would be to do “cp -rl my-flac-directory my-ogg-directory”, which will give you two identical hard-linked trees, and then delete from each tree as appropriate. You could probably also do something more sophisticated with rsync. An exercise for the reader!

  6. Do you need command line? http://soundconverter.berlios.de/ might still be able to do that (I haven’t tried the command line for a long while, though).

  7. mariuss says:

    Even simpler delete:
    find -type f -iname \*.mp3 -delete

  8. cas says:

    Not really an answer to your question, but did you look at mp3fs. It makes a virtual filesystem that encodes mp3 on the fly. Easy for copying it to mp3players.

  9. scaine says:

    No interest in using the “Sound Converter” GUI? It’s very easy and pretty powerful. I use GRIP to rip my CDs to FLAC, then Sound Converter takes it from there. I suppose you need Gnome of course.

    I also read about a nifty MP3FS which allows you to “mount” your FLAC files in such as way that they all appear to be MP3 files. It then transcodes on the fly if you access one of them. I wonder if there’s a similar (fuse?) filesystem for Ogg Vorbis. If so, it would be even quicker to access, as I understand that the conversion from FLAC to Vorbis is very quick. Quicker than MP3 anyway. And a great space-saver as you don’t end up (like me) with two copies of the same file.

  10. Ryan says:

    Look into Perl Audio Converter (pacpl). In addition to converting between formats, it also rips CDs to the format of your choice.

  11. If the reason you want to convert to Vorbis is for using the files on a portable player, you could just set up an appropriate HAL profile for the player and then when you drag the songs from Rhythmbox’s library to the portable player, they’ll be transcoded to Vorbis automatically on the fly.

Leave a Reply

