Ubuntu 14.04: Subtle shades of success

I just completed upgrading four computers to Ubuntu 14.04 tonight. My testing machine has been running 14.04 since early alpha phase, but in the last two days I upgrade by work Lenovo W520, my person Lenovo T530 and the self-assembled desktop with a core2duo and Nvidia 8800 GTS that I haded down to my son.

Confidence In Ubuntu
On Friday of this week I will be involved in delivering training to a group of Boy Scout leaders at a Wood Badge course. I will utilize my primary laptop, the T530, to give a presentation and produce the Gilwell Gazette. I completed a great deal of prep work on Ubuntu 13.10 and if I did not have complete confidence in Ubuntu 14.04 I would have waited until after the weekend to upgrade. I needed to be confident that the multi-monitor functionality would work, that documents produced in an earlier version of Libre Office would not suddenly change the page layouts. In short, I was depending on Ubuntu being dependable and solid more than I usually do.

Subtle Changes Add Flexibility and Polish
Ubuntu added some very small tweaks that truly add to the overall user experience. The borderless windows, new lock screen, and smaller minimum size of launcher icons all add up to slight, but pleasant changes.

Here is a screen shot of the 14.04 desktop on the Lenovo T530.

14.04 desktop

14.04 desktop

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

